Scholarship applications are available through the counselor’s office at the Excelsior Springs High School.
Contact Heather Grove at

Bonnie Casto Memorial Scholarship

Bonnie Casto was a longtime activities office secretary at the Excelsior Springs High School. In Bonnie’s memory, a memorial scholarship was created for graduating seniors at ESHS. The scholarship is given to seniors who are strong academically, but also active in extracurricular activities.

Terri Garbison Memorial Scholarship

The Terri Garbison Scholarship is given in memory of Terri, a member of ESHS’s class of 1984 until her death in a car accident in 1981. The selection criteria for this scholarship are that the student chosen must epitomize academic achievement, character and leadership and must have a “B” average. The student chosen must also attend a post-secondary school in Missouri.

Gary M. Kennedy Scholarship

Gary Kennedy was a popular teacher at ESHS for more than 30 years. He chaperoned senior trips and was a senior class sponsor most of his career. Gary was a strong supporter of Tiger sports and took great pride in the education of our children. This scholarship was created in his memory and is given to a student majoring in education. 

Martha Jarman Scholarship

Martha Jarman was a dedicated and devoted public servant who spent eight years representing Excelsior Springs and the surrounding area in the 29th District of the Missouri House of Representatives. Her term in office ended in 1990, shortly before her death in 1991 at the age of 63. Her scholarship is intended for those planning a career in the medical field, with special consideration given for financial need and career goals.

The Optimist Club of Excelsior Springs Lambert Clark Dickey Scholarship

The Optimist Club Lambert Clark Dickey Scholarship was established by the Optimist Club of Excelsior Springs this year after closing the organization after 60 years. This scholarship memorializes three of its charter members who put community service before all else: William Lambert, Wendell Clark and H.A. Dickey. The student receiving this scholarship has maintained a 3.0 grade average, has had good attendance, has been involved in extracurricular activities and has performed 20 hours of community service throughout their four years of high school.

Michael Raybourn Memorial Scholarship

The Michael Raybourn Scholarship is a $500 scholarship awarded to one boy and one girl who will be attending an institution of higher education or continuing education. Michael passed away at the age of 16 while a sophomore at ESHS. Football was his passion, and he played varsity in both football and wrestling.

Ray Reynolds Memorial Scholarship

The Ray Leon Reynolds Scholarship is given in memory of Ray, who was born on January 19, 1991, to Roger and Andrea (Dozdowski) Reynolds. He attended Excelsior Springs Middle School and was a member of the Missouri City Baptist Church, until his death in an ATV accident. This scholarship is given to a graduate interested in pursuing wrestling.

Jason Simmons Award

The Jason Simmons Award was established in 2000 to honor seniors who display a charitable heart. The award was created in memory of Jason, a 1994 ESHS graduate, who died in a car accident in 1998. The student who is chosen to receive the award each year is recognized as a compassionate and caring citizen of our community.

Red Swickard Memorial Scholarship

Leonard “Red” Swickard, nicknamed for his red hat, red shirt and bib overalls, was an avid fan of golf, spending most of his days on the course collecting lost golf balls and reselling to players. After Red passed away in 1999, this memorial scholarship was established and awarded to all seniors who love to play golf. Red was a great philanthropist. His legacy is to help new generations of players learn the joys of playing golf.

Gregg Williams Foundation Scholarship

The Gregg Williams Foundation, Inc. was founded in 2004 to fund programs for kids in the Excelsior Springs area. The Gregg Williams Foundation Scholarship was established in 2012 and is awarded to two ESHS graduating seniors.